Skip to content
An autonomous, prosperous and sustainable community and council

Torres Strait Treaty Movements






A ban on cross-border travel for traditional purposes under the Torres Strait Treaty is in place until further notice.



About the Torres Strait Treaty:

The Torres Strait Treaty is between Australia and Papua New Guinea. It concerns matters of sovereignty and maritime boundaries in the area known as the Torres Strait. The Treaty was signed in December 1978 and became active in February 1985.

It defines the border between Australia and Papua New Guinea and provides a framework for the management of the common border area.

Both Australia and Papua New Guinea have liaison officers, based on Thursday Island and Daru, who consult regularly on the implementation of the Treaty at the local level.








More Information:

For more information about the Torres Strait Treaty, visit the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website.